About the Single

“Sparks” is the first single of Quiet Sonias upcoming full-lenght debut-album “QS” recorded entirely live with the seven-piece group. It’s an upbeat, fresh piece of folky chamber-rock with a punk attitude, a teary-eyed though kind of hopeful pop song with a fierce and loose organic band-quality drawing inspiration from 80’s jangle and college rock – acts such as Hüsker Dü, The Go Betweens and The Wedding Present comes to mind – held together by the structured feel and distinct voice of Nikolaj Bruus’ songwriting. In an abstract, poetic language “Sparks” concerns among other things the absolute value of human bonds, embracing our condition as being exactly “human all too human”, about trustfully giving in to the spectacle of the improvised machinery.

Recorded entirely live in a candle-lit studio over the course of a weekend at The Royal Danish Academy of Music, Quiet Sonia’s debut full-length, “QS”, is the first recording with the whole seven-piece group, paying homage to a certain bunch of classic rock records with a distinctive “live” or “band” feel such as Songs: Ohia’s “Magnolia Electric Co.”, Van Morrison’s “Astral Weeks” or Cowboy Junkies’ “The Trinity Session”. Not at least the way recording worked (before multitrack-recording) when you recorded straight-to-tape, literally cut a track in wax! With a certain raw, stark quality – and no overdubs – this record is all about the core of the songwriting, the quality of the group’s interplay and the momentaneous energy of the individual performances. An exercise in attentive listening and feeling – delicately working with subtle shifts in texture, tempo, dynamics, improvisational elements and the artistic use of silence – the result is a certain warmth, urgency and intimacy perhaps too rarely experienced in rock music nowadays. “QS” is a big, wide open – sprawling yet intimate – noisy, raw and emotional chamber-rock/folk/post-rock record that we hope you’ll enjoy as much as QS enjoyed making it. 

Spotify Apple Bandcamp

Sparks (Single)

Release Date : March 31, 2023
Artist : Quiet Sonia
Format : Digital Download

Lead Vocals / Acoustic Steel String Guitar: Nikolaj Bruus
Grand Piano / Backing Vocals: Frida Rolskov Pedersen
Organ / Backing Vocals: Rasmus Jon Lundager
Electric Bass: Phillip Dyssegaard
Drums: Jens Marl Christiansen
Electric Guitar: Anders Meyer
Violin: Thea Thorborg Pedersen

Lyrics by Nikolaj Bruus
Songwriting by Nikolaj Bruus & Quiet Sonia
Mix & Mastering by Morten Bue
Recorded by Kristian Alexander Pedersen at The Royal Danish Academy of Music
Artwork by Nikolaj Bruus
Design by Brian Raaby Andersen & Nikolaj Bruus
Logo by Anders Bjørn Sprogøe