Bright Young Future

About Bright young Future

Based in Copenhagen, Denmark, Bright Young Future is an experimental collage-pop project consisting of Rune Risager (Vibrant as Fuck, Den Fjerde Væg) and Jacob Abildgaard (Black Horse). Combining ambient, sample music, noise, glitch, doom and pop music, BYF is contemporary, playful and spontaneous post-genre music best described as a photogram of moods: Abstract and colorful musical montages, saturated, synthetic, chemical-like – with sound sources such as synths, organs, laptop, guitars and field recordings – shifting between expressions of strange warm hazy nostalgia and harsh digital futuristic explorations; ultimately engaging us in a tremendously personal, dream-like and surrealist musical universe.


Life on the Bridge

While recording “Life under the Bridge”, Bright Young Future moved together in the studio. In the time they lived together – playing, rehearsing, recording – they developed a common language to shape and share their ideas and music. Jacob and Rune both experienced loss of loved ones while recording the album, which significantly shaped the work. The album works as an analogy of life from birth to death. The songs are thought of as “scenes” playing out while passing a bridge: Different challenges, experiences and perspectives – presenting themselves as “images” open for interpretative freedom and imagination – relating to universal themes such as life, death, love, endings and beginnings. Mastered by ambient/drone legend Taylor Deupree, and containing executive producer features from electronic artist Tettix Hexer, “Life under the Bridge” is proudly released by Pink Cotton Candy Records.